Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Getting started with STM32F767ZI

A Maq
Associate III
Posted on March 18, 2018 at 12:44

Hi,

I am just Getting started with STM32F767ZI using a Nucleo F767ZI dev board. Prior to that I have only used in commercial project PIC24H family of Microchip and embedded C language. Can anybody help with how to get started with it.Following are the question which are coming into my mind and struggling to find much online material .

1. How to add MCU specific header files. (Any libraries need to be added such SPL?)
  2. How to use it without using HAL libraries.
  3. Where to find example codes tutorial specific to above model.
  4. Could not figure out how to just create not generic but MCU specific code just to blink an LED or control its inputs outputs.
  5. Any other evaluation tools recommended for the above MCU to get started ?

Please Help.

#getting-started-with-stm32
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Posted on March 18, 2018 at 17:01

You're using IAR EWARM, not me, you'd be in a better position to know what it does and doesn't do or provide. ST provides EWARM templates/examples.

If you can't find include files it is because you haven't provided the correct 'Include Paths' to the compiler. The <> form works for stdio.h, stdlib.h and the like, the '' form is used by ST throughout there code.

>>Also, the examples you have mentioned they are from CUBE using a lot of Hal lib. 

The bulk of the code in the trees are handcrafted HAL examples, and the HAL libraries themselves, along with some middleware and board support code. ST provides this as a large monolithic download running 500MB-1GB downloads. You pull it all, you use/take what you need.

>>not allowed to use CubeMX or HAL lib.

Yeah, one of those, climb the learning curve with the materials provided, you can pivot to whatever free-climbing methods you're expected to use once you've figured which way is up.