cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I Atomic Operation control the non-bit banding region in STM32F4 and STM32F1 ?

Carter Lee
Associate III
Posted on September 01, 2017 at 09:54

Hi,

Currently I'm studying for bit-banding.

As I understad, the bit bit-banding works as Bit-banding maps a complete word of memory onto a single bit in the bit-band region from

http://infocenter.arm.com/help/topic/com.arm.doc.ddi0337h/DDI0337H_cortex_m3_r2p0_trm.pdf

0690X000006043mQAA.jpg

Q1.

But I'm wondering how do I Atomic Operation control non-Bit Band Alias region in memory map.

For example, in the below M3 memory map.

We can see 2 Bit band alias part(red box), it means that Bit band region can be aliaed.

But how do I control non-Bit band Alias part in memory map such as External Device, External RAM and Private peripheral bus region?

So I want to know what common method exist in non-bit band region.0690X000006043sQAA.jpg

Q2.The following is STM32F429xx M4 memory map.

We can see 3 Alias region (64KB,16KB,112KB aliased By bit-banding). but where exactly 3 alias regions indicate alias?

In case M3(in Q1), each bit band alias has paired to Bit band region. but I can't find that pair region in STM32F429xx M4 memory map.

How can I understand this?

and Here's also very small size align region. I think STM32F429xx has to have more than M3. but there are just 3 region. I can't understand it. How can I Atomic Operation in non bit banding alias region? I want to know most common way.0690X000006043rQAA.jpg0690X000006043wQAA.jpg

#bit-banding-stm32f4 #bit-banding #bit-banding-stm32f1
2 REPLIES 2
Posted on September 01, 2017 at 10:17

But I'm wondering how do I control non-BitBand Alias part in memory map.

You don't control anything of bit-banding, this is a built in and fixed option.