cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

stm8l adc

dion  tan
Associate II
Posted on August 31, 2017 at 09:46

Hi guys, may some expert please help me? I am new to stm8l. I am currently using the chip stm8l151k4t6. I have connected battery voltage to pin D7, purpose of it is that i wanna monitor the status of the battery while the device is ON. However, my Lcd display keep giving me same value(4095). Where did my code goes wrong ? below are my codes. 

ADC_DeInit(ADC1); 

ADC_SamplingTimeConfig(ADC1, ADC_Group_SlowChannels, ADC_SamplingTime_4Cycles);

ADC_SchmittTriggerConfig(ADC1, ADC_Channel_7, DISABLE);

ADC_ChannelCmd(ADC1, ADC_Channel_7, ENABLE);

ADC_Init(ADC1, ADC_ConversionMode_Continuous, ADC_Resolution_12Bit, ADC_Prescaler_1); 

ADC_Cmd(ADC1, ENABLE); 

ADC_ExternalTrigConfig(ADC1, ADC_ExtEventSelection_None, ADC_ExtTRGSensitivity_All);

ADC_SoftwareStartConv(ADC1); 

while(!ADC_GetFlagStatus(ADC1, ADC_FLAG_EOC)); 

battery = ADC_GetConversionValue(ADC1); 

My lcd keep giving me 4095, which is (2^12) -1. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Szymon PANECKI
Senior III
Posted on August 31, 2017 at 18:33

Hello Dion Tan,

Looking at your code, potentially missing part can be enabling of a clock for ADC. You can enable this clock by calling below function:

CLK_PeripheralClockConfig(CLK_Peripheral_ADC1, ENABLE);

In addition I can see that you trigger ADC by software and in your case conversion takes place only once. So you need to put part of your code in the loop. Below I put a complete example code, which shows how to use ADC:

#include 'stm8l15x.h'

uint16_t ADC_value = 0;

main()

{

ADC_Init(ADC1, ADC_ConversionMode_Single, ADC_Resolution_12Bit, ADC_Prescaler_2);

ADC_SamplingTimeConfig(ADC1, ADC_Group_SlowChannels, ADC_SamplingTime_384Cycles);

ADC_Cmd(ADC1, ENABLE);

ADC_ChannelCmd(ADC1, ADC_Channel_5, ENABLE);

while (1)

{

while(ADC_GetFlagStatus(ADC1, ADC_FLAG_EOC) == RESET)

{

}