Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why can't I read from SPI Rx buffer?

Gergo Tanyi
Associate II
Posted on November 02, 2017 at 08:52

Hey guys!

I have an STM32 micro as a Master device, and I am communicating with a slave chip through the SPI interface. It works well, so far I can read from the slave's memory cells, or at least I can see the answer on the oscilloscope. But somehow I'm not able to read out this data from the buffer. I attached  the code, I hope somebody can see what I'm missing. I put it in a loop, which quits when theres any data.

#spi
14 REPLIES 14
Lead
Posted on November 02, 2017 at 09:17

The many busy-loops in this code gives me the creeps.

Have you tried to set a breakpoint after the wait for RXNE, before you try to read the DR register ?

What do you see in DR ?

But somehow I'm not able to read out this data from the buffer

Perhaps your lcdPrintInt() function does not work as expected.

Posted on November 02, 2017 at 09:36

The print function works properly I tested it. As for the busy waits...well I really dont have experience in programming, I just followed exactly the stm32 datasheet, how to use SPI interface, thats why. I havent tried breakpoints, but I will now. And I see only zeros. The while loop would quits if theres something else.

Posted on November 02, 2017 at 09:51

Using your scope, what do you see at the MISO line ?

The SPI interface has several clock polarity and trigger edge options, check with the datasheet of your slave device.

I suspect the slave does not really answer.

Posted on November 02, 2017 at 09:57

Clock vs MISO line. The last 8 bit should be the answer, seems correct.

0690X00000604CKQAY.jpg
Posted on November 02, 2017 at 10:12

Try to start from an example of SPI from the STM32Cube which is from the corresponding board or close one. If speed is paramount, check for Low Layer SPI Master example.

Lead
Posted on November 02, 2017 at 11:19