cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Center aligned PWM is half the desired frequency

G S
Associate II
Posted on November 14, 2017 at 15:41

Hello everyone, I'm new to STM32 microcontrollers. I'm currently working on my first project using this microcontroller, it is for a motor control application. I am trying to set up the PWMs, I'd like to run them at a frequency of 15kHz and they must be center aligned. I am able to get edge aligned signals at this frequency, but when trying to set to center aligned the frequency drops to 58kHz. What am I doing wrong here?

/* Compute the value to be set in ARR register to generate signal frequency at 156 Khz */
 TimerPeriod = (SystemCoreClock / 35156);
/* Compute CCR1 value to generate a duty cycle at 25% for channel 1 */
 Channel1Pulse = (uint16_t) ((TimerPeriod + 1) - ((uint32_t) 25 * (TimerPeriod - 1)) / 1000);

/* Compute CCR2 value to generate a duty cycle at 25% for channel 2 */
 Channel2Pulse = (uint16_t) ((TimerPeriod + 1) - ((uint32_t) 25 * (TimerPeriod - 1)) / 1000);
/* Compute CCR3 value to generate a duty cycle at 0% for channel 3 */
 Channel3Pulse = (uint16_t) ((TimerPeriod + 1) - ((uint32_t) 25 * (TimerPeriod - 1)) / 1000);
/* Time Base configuration */
 TIM_TimeBaseStructure.TIM_Prescaler = 0; /* Do not use a prescaler */
 TIM_TimeBaseStructure.TIM_CounterMode = TIM_CounterMode_CenterAligned3; /* Timer mode: center aligned */
 TIM_TimeBaseStructure.TIM_Period = TimerPeriod; /* Configure timer period to be TimerPeriod amount of clock ticks before an up count */
 TIM_TimeBaseStructure.TIM_ClockDivision = 0; /* No clock division */
 TIM_TimeBaseStructure.TIM_RepetitionCounter = 0;
TIM_TimeBaseInit(TIM1, &TIM_TimeBaseStructure);
/* Channel 1, 2 and 3 Configuration in PWM mode */
 TIM_OCInitStructure.TIM_OCMode = TIM_OCMode_PWM2; /* In upcounting, channel is inactive as long as TIMx_CNT<TIMx_CCR1 else active */