cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32 Discovery kit with the STM32L475 MCU beginner help

John Karpinsky
Associate II
Posted on November 17, 2017 at 21:22

I am a beginner on the  STM32 Discovery kit with the STM32L475 MCU.  I need to start from scratch.  Help!

5 REPLIES 5
Posted on November 17, 2017 at 23:02

Sorry can't dead lift you into orbit. Any related experience, employment, education? Do you have a business case for an ST engineer to support your project?

Perhaps see if you can pick up a slide deck from one of the prior seminars, or sign up for this one

http://www.st.com/content/st_com/en/about/events/events.html/stm32l4-microsoft-azure-seminar.html

https://community.st.com/community/university-community/blog/2017/07/18/stm32l4-discovery-kit-iot-node

https://community.st.com/0D50X00009bMM5hSAG

Tips, buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
Posted on November 18, 2017 at 00:00

Thanks Clive,

I am a retired Physicist with a lot of experience with various processors and programing languages. I know this will be a lot of work to get up to speed. I’m not even worrying about writing new applications yet. I just want to get online with the discovery board, and run the demo’s first. This is a hobby, so not a business case. I appreciate your links and I will look into them.

John Karpinsky

raptorhal2
Lead
Posted on November 18, 2017 at 03:03

The following are the basic steps to get going with a Discovery kit. If you have already “discovered� this, feel free to ignore me.

The Discovery user’s manual available on the ST web site will provide information on hooking up and running the simple demo pre-programmed into your Discovery. It also describes the demo peripherals available on the board, pin assignments and board schematic.