cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Most efficient data length?

Lars Beiderbecke
Senior III
Posted on January 06, 2018 at 17:38

I'm still new to the Cortex M architecture, but I was wondering which is the most performing data type for integers smaller than 256 if space is abundant? Is it uint8_t, uint16_t, or uint32_t, or are they all the same?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Posted on January 06, 2018 at 18:24

Depends what you're doing with the data, manipulating it as 32-bit is generally the most efficient, ie using 8-bit or 16-bit isn't faster, and might require masking or shifting. The compiler's default 'int' size is 32-bit, and you should use this for loop iterators rather than the smallest thing you can fit it in.

If you have large tables/arrays of constants use the 8, 16 or 32-bit form the data fits into.

In assembler immediate loads have a format that goes beyond 8-bit (8-bit pattern shifted across 16 positions), things that can't be represented with the scheme are placed in a literal pool usually at the end of the function, and a PC relative load. The assembler/compiler can choose how to represent values in the most efficient fashion.

Tips, buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
Posted on January 06, 2018 at 18:24

Depends what you're doing with the data, manipulating it as 32-bit is generally the most efficient, ie using 8-bit or 16-bit isn't faster, and might require masking or shifting. The compiler's default 'int' size is 32-bit, and you should use this for loop iterators rather than the smallest thing you can fit it in.

If you have large tables/arrays of constants use the 8, 16 or 32-bit form the data fits into.