cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Whether discovery board have the compatability to support CAN and DSP?

Posted on December 15, 2017 at 08:35

i am new to ARM. my need is DSP and CAN with cortex-M4 . i was seacrhing for development board, i found the result with discovery board with STM32F407,i searched related to discovery board, the processor supports CAN and DSP, but i have an doubt whether discovery board have the compatability to support CAN and DSP?

#stm32f407-discovery
7 REPLIES 7
Andrew Neil
Chief II
Posted on December 15, 2017 at 22:13

GOPALAKRISHNAN THANASEKARAN wrote:

i am new to ARM.

Do you have any experience with other microcontrollers?

my need is DSP and CAN with cortex-M4

So do you have experience with DSP or CAN?

i have an doubt whether discovery board have the compatability to support CAN

What is there to doubt?

Surely, a quick look at the User Manual and/or schematic will confirm whether the board has the necessary hardware or not?

And, even if the board does not have the hardware itself, it can be added externally.

and DSP?

Again - what does the User Manual and/or schematic tell you?

What features do you specifically require?

Posted on December 15, 2017 at 23:29

There used to be a breakout board for the STM32F4-DISCO that added CAN, but you're a bit late to the party, might still be on eBay, but couldn't find it

https://www.amazon.co.uk/ZCLSTM32F407-STM32F4-Discovery-Expansion-Board/dp/B00PFBXX3K

This board has CAN (2x), there is a bug in the jumper settings, but both can/do work

https://www.ebay.com/itm/RedDragon407-STM32F4-Cortex-M4-3-2-Ethernet-wireless-2-4G-SDIO-Serial-camera/121087293812?hash=item1c315d7974:g:~ssAAOSwgyxWXVsx

Tips, buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
Posted on December 16, 2017 at 08:50