Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to read 4 fast pulses

P S
Associate II
Posted on March 16, 2018 at 16:55

Hi All,

I am just getting started with stm32. I am using a stm32f031 mcu and am trying to read an input signal from a flight controller. The protocol used puts out a series of 4 pulses that vary from 1us to 2.6us in width with a 1us in between ( proshot protocol). I have used input capture with a timer for slower speed pulses but I have no luck with reading such short pulse durations. I am looking for clues as to how to read this? It seems input capture with interrupts is just too slow? Is DMA the solution here? can DMA read the 4 pulses one after another like this and store in an array? I am really new at this and I have spent a lot of time trying things than find out it could never work so this time I am asking first. Thanks for your help!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Posted on March 16, 2018 at 18:08

DMA should be quite capable of sub-microsecond acquisition.

You'd look to maximally clock a TIM (ie PSC=0, ARR=0xFFFF), use the TIMx_CHx pin in input capture mode, where the same TIMx_CCx trigger was available to a DMA controller, and have a large enough time stamp capture buffer to hold all events on the time line.

The F0 being somewhat constraining as it only has 16-bit TIM

Tips, Buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo
Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
Posted on March 16, 2018 at 18:08

DMA should be quite capable of sub-microsecond acquisition.

You'd look to maximally clock a TIM (ie PSC=0, ARR=0xFFFF), use the TIMx_CHx pin in input capture mode, where the same TIMx_CCx trigger was available to a DMA controller, and have a large enough time stamp capture buffer to hold all events on the time line.

The F0 being somewhat constraining as it only has 16-bit TIM

Tips, Buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo