Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

A new Incomer asking for some guidance

Mohammad Yasser
Associate II
Posted on December 25, 2017 at 22:37

Hi everyone,

I'm a fresh graduate Engineer from Egypt . I'm currently working on a project and it was decided that we will utilize the STM32F407G discovery board . The problem is that it was also decided that the Atollic truestudio lite is the IDE that we will be using as well . I have been searching far and wide and I found near to nigh of tutorials . I have been Using Microchip's PIC up until now and I'm new to the ARM as well . Do you have any suggestions as to how I should proceed?

8 REPLIES 8
Posted on January 02, 2018 at 17:08

>>

The problem is that it was also decided that the Atollic truestudio lite..

And who made that discussion, and why, if you need support pick a tool chain that has the level of support and visibility you and your team need.

https://forum.atollic.com/

The bulk of ST's example will build with eval versions of Keil or IAR. Or the STM32 Work Bench

http://openstm32.org/HomePage

Don't get stuck making bad choices, make different ones or change direction if you are going the wrong way.

Tips, buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
Andrew Neil
Chief II
Posted on January 03, 2018 at 09:44

As

Turvey.Clive.002

‌ said, if having lots of tutorials is important to you, then you should factor that into your choice of IDE!

The same applies when selecting components for your design - always be sure that you can get adequate support for your needs.

A cheap component (or tool) is useless is you can't work out how to use it!

The Atollic Lite is free - so changing to another IDE is not going to cost you...

(although note that ST has recently acquired Atollic - so things may well change...)

Andrew Neil
Chief II
Posted on January 03, 2018 at 12:08

Do you have any suggestions as to how I should proceed?