cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Porting IAP

Daniel Hatcher
Associate II
Posted on January 03, 2018 at 10:16

Hello, I am new to STM 32 devices so go easy. I would like to port over the IAP included in the AN4854 which is for a STM32072B Evaluation board over to a STM32f746 Discovery board. I have read through the application note a few times. I have previous experience with IAP on other devices so the memory mapping is not the issue....at the moment. What I am struggling on is after changing the device name, my understanding is I then have to change the HAL drivers. What is the best way to go about this without incurring lots of errors?

Thank you

#stm32-f7 #stm32f7-hal #stm32-iap
13 REPLIES 13
Andrew Neil
Chief II
Posted on January 04, 2018 at 09:59

STM32072B Evaluation board

So an STM32F072VBT6 microcontroller, then?

http://www.st.com/en/evaluation-tools/stm32072b-eval.html

So Cortex-M0

to a STM32f746

Which is Cortex-M7.

Is there not something closer to start with?

after changing the device name

Where?

You haven't said what tools you are using.

change the HAL drivers

Yes - you will need the particular HAL drivers for the chip in question.

The easiest way is often (usually?) to start a fresh project 

for the chip in question, and merge/port other code into that ...

Posted on January 04, 2018 at 10:24

Thanks for the reply. 

I am totally new to ST chips so please forgive me. I was advised to use the IAP example then port it over to the correct device. 

I am using system workbench for STM32. I have also created another project using STM32CubeMX. 

I have used an example project for the

STM32f746 Discovery board and create my own application which include a display.

So would it be better to create my own project using 

STM32CubeMX, then add in the function and header files which are needed for the IAP. I can then set the correct locations in the linker for my application. 

Andrew Neil
Chief II