cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Update interrupt flag goes high as soon as counter is enabled

Onkar Chincholkar
Associate II
Posted on January 15, 2018 at 14:36

I am new to STM32 controllers and I wanted to create a sample code for counter in TIM1. I am facing a problem that the update interrupt flag, which is supposed to go high when counter equals ARR register, is going high as soon as counter is enabled. I am using discovery F0 board and giving a simplified version of my code

void main(void)

{

RCC->APB2ENR |= RCC_APB2ENR_TIM1EN;

RCC->AHBENR |= RCC_AHBENR_GPIOAEN;

TIM1->PSC = 0xff;

TIM1->CNT &= 0x0;

TIM1->ARR = 0xffff;

Glow LED1

TIM1->CR1 |= 0x0001;

while(TIM_SR_UIF == 0);

Turn off led

}

Thank you

Regards

Onkar

#beginner #stm32-f0
7 REPLIES 7
Posted on January 15, 2018 at 15:07

Yes, the Update condition is (CNT == 0), not (CNT == ARR)

Tips, Buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo
Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
Posted on January 16, 2018 at 08:42

Thank you for the update condition. If I change while(TIM_SR_UIF == 0); to while(TIM1->CNT != some_number) I can run my program.

Also I observed that for 8Mhz crystal, if I set the prescalar as 8000 and wait till the counter reaches 1000(ARR register is set 0xffff), I do not get 1 sec delay. Thank you for patient reading.

Regards

Onkar

Posted on January 16, 2018 at 09:06

Prescaler has to be one less than the desired dividing ratio, i.e. 7999 in your case.

JW

Posted on January 16, 2018 at 09:56

Thank you Jan for that information. Still my delay is nowhere near 1 sec. It is about half second rather.

Regards

Onkar

Posted on January 16, 2018 at 10:55

Sorry I did not get you at the first time. Thank you for pointing that out. I have increased the prescalar and changed the lines to

TIM1->CNT = 0x0+1;

TIM1->ARR = 0xfff+1; in my code above but still I observe the same behavior in the debug mode.

Regards

Onkar