cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Available solutions for Hall Sensored 6-step BLDC motor control using STM32 Nucleo-64 ?

eBirdman
Senior
Posted on February 07, 2018 at 17:51

Hello, I am new to STM32 and to ST products in general. I am developing a BLDC motor controller. Until now we've been working with other MCU development platform but we want to research other solutions as well. ST site shows quite promising development environment based on STM32 Nucleus-64 development platform but the expected simple Sensored software examples are missing.

Our goal is a speed controller for the sensored Hall-based BLDC motor with 84V max voltage and high current.

AT run time controller will work in 6-step commutation synchronized by Hall sensor, yet for the motor' identification/setup only we use sensorless mode.

I'd like to test this setup from ST :  STM32 Nucleo-64 STM32F401RE MCU + X-NUCLEO-IHM08M1 expansion board + X-CUBE-SPN8 software + six-step firmware library for STM32 Nucleo boards .

X-NUCLEO-IHM08M1 expansion board has Hall inputs and it's user manual promises the sensored control. But there is nothing about sensored operation in X-CUBE-SPN8, neither in 6-step brushless BLDC motor control software module description. All examples for this hardware setup are either FOC or sensorless 6-point commutation. Why?

I found examples for sensored 6-point development in STEVAL-SPIN3202 but it is for STSPIN32F0A MCU .

I need Hall Sensored software design examples for STM32 Nucleo-64 STM32F401RE MCU + X-NUCLEO-IHM08M1 expansion board .  Any pointers to the available examples will be appreciated.

Thank you

#x-cube-spn8 #stm32 #stm32f401re #x-nucleo-ihm08m1 #hall-sensor #stm32-nucleo-64
4 REPLIES 4
Abdul Fourteia
Associate II
Posted on April 22, 2018 at 00:26

Hello Vlad,