Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32Cube_FW_F4_V1.19.0 + FREERTOS + FATFS + SDIO + DMA

Mario Gkiolena
Associate II

Posted on February 11, 2018 at 17:59

Hello,

I am using a custom board with an STM32F401RB microcontroller that I want to be able to save data to SD Card. At first I tried without using FreeRTOS and I found that writing data every 20ms is not applicable because every writing cycle sometimes took about 150ms and from specifications can take up to 250ms. So I thought to give a try on FreeRTOS (it is my first time with FreeRTOS and I am currently reading the documentations). I made a basic cube project just for the SD Card with slow SDIO speed (1MHz) that I have posted here. I run the code above to test if the SDIO and FatFS driver works but keeps failing. Am I missing something?

/* StartDefaultTask function */

void StartDefaultTask(void const * argument)

{

/* init code for FATFS */

MX_FATFS_Init();

/* USER CODE BEGIN 5 */

FATFS fs;

FIL fil;

FRESULT res;

char mybuff[64];

/* Infinite loop */

for(;;)

{

res = f_mount(&fs, '', 1);

if (res){

sprintf(mybuff, 'failed, %u', res);

}

/* Create a file as new */

res = f_open(&fil, 'speed.txt', FA_OPEN_ALWAYS | FA_WRITE);

if (res){

}

/* Close the file */

res = f_close(&fil);

if (res){

}

osDelay(1000);

}

/* USER CODE END 5 */

}

9 REPLIES 9
Posted on February 13, 2018 at 18:55

Mounting, opening, closing files is going to be slow.

You're goal for any speed is to write multiples of 512 bytes, ideally a buffer of 32KB in an aligned fashion.

I would recommend using the HAL examples, number of complaints with CubeMX, and not something I'm going to wade into.

When debugging you're going to need to inspect the DISKIO layer as errors in the SDIO access will simply propagate up to the FatFS level. There are many things that can induce failure.

Tips, Buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo
Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..