Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LIS2DH12 SPI Communication: Device answers alternately with ''FF''

Pascal Wielsch
Associate II
Posted on February 28, 2018 at 09:02

Hello,

I'm currently testing the LIS2DH12 accelerometer, which is mounted on the MKI151V1. The board is connected to a SPI/I2C device from National Instruments because I want to integrate the sensor in a LabVIEW measurement software. First of all, I would like to mention, that I'm a beginner in working with SPI, so it is possible that I make a simple mistake.

In LabVIEW, I first open a SPI configuration (Set Chip Select, Clock Rate, Clock Polarity, Clock Phase) followed by the Read/Write Command. At the end of the communication, I close the SPI configuration again. The corresponding R/W LabVIEW-VI needs an hex-array as input and returns the answer of the SPI-Slave, if necessary, in an hex-array output.

Every command of the LIS2DH12 consists of 8bit. Thus every array index represents one byte (hex format).

In case of a reading, the first array index represents the read command (RW bit; MS bit; register address). The following array indices have to be an optional hex-number for the number of register data I want to receive.

In case of a writing, the first index represents the write command and the following indices represent the data I want to write in the register/s.

As an example, when I want to read register 'WHO_AM_I' (0Fh): I send the input array '8Fh;00h' (index 0; index 1) and receive the output array '8Fh;33h', which is the right answer for this register. So far, everything works fine.

Finally I will come to the actual problem. If I repeat this read command the accelerometer answers with 'FFh'. This problem occurs with every R/W-command from any register, no matter what time is in between multiple R/W-commands. When I connect the sensor for the first time, it also responds with 'FFh'.

Do you have any ideas what the reason for this behavior is?