Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PWM with first pulse different

sanju
Senior
Posted on March 27, 2018 at 07:56

Hello everyone,

I am just new to stm32 microcontroller. I am starting my first project of stm32 using “STM32F030C6T6� MCU. My project is to drive a “high speed solenoid valve driver�.

In which I have to drive a mosfet with PWM of duty cycle 15%@40Khz. Till this point it is not a problem. but there is a twist that first pulse of PWM output must be of 500ms period i.e. 2Hz with approx. 80% duty cycle means 80%@2Hz. From 2nd pulse it should be then 15%@40Khz

Just Summarizing here:

__1st pulse : Freq. 2Hz, Period 500ms, duty cycle appr. 99%

2nd pulse: Freq. 40KHz, Period .025ms, duty cycle appr. 15%

3rd pulse: Freq. 40KHz, Period .025ms, duty cycle appr. 15%

|

|

|

last pulse: Freq. 40KHz, Period .025ms, duty cycle appr. 15%

Note: Toff of all pulse from first to last should be same.__

Can any one help me how it can be done with timer or how to configure timer for it.

You feedback and suggestions will be highly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
2 REPLIES 2
Posted on March 27, 2018 at 09:44

Set both TIMx_ARR and TIMx_CCRy to preloaded (TIMx_CR1.ARR=1, TIMx_CCMRz.OCyPE=1). Set TIMx_CCMRz to required output mode and enable in TIMx_CCER . Set TIMx_PSC, TIMx_ARR and TIMx_CCRy for the first pulse and set TIMx_EGR.UG to generate an update to make those settings active. Now set TIMx_PSC, TIMx_ARR and TIMx_CCRy for the subsequent pulses - these will get active only after the first cycle is finished and next Update is generated during the run of timer. Now enable the timer by TIMx_CR1.CEN.