cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

stm32f407vet6 MCU general questions

Andrew Crawford
Associate II
Posted on April 05, 2018 at 23:35

Hey everyone, I'm new to these microcontrollers and new to these MCUs in general, and had a few questions... First off, i have some experience using Arduinos, so I'm somewhat familiar with the functionality and programming involved, and I've done all the research I can as far as finding the compatible software for programming, and looking more into the arm assembly language involved (in case I need it alongside c), but I wanted to ask more about the capabilities of the board, and whether or not I can do certain things.

The board Ive ordered has a built in SD card reader and claims to have pins supporting an LCD screen, wireless, etc... So I was wondering if it may or may not be possible to run a light version of Linux (with a GUI) off of it, maybe using a Bluetooth keyboard and mouse. The only operating system I've found is the rtos, which definitely seems appealing for its own ease of use and purposes, but I was wondering if these boards were even capable of running anything with a GUI, if optimally configured (or if any such thing may already exist). Thanks!

*As a side note, I'm not necessarily asking if it's already been done, I would just as well be interested in doing it myself, just wondering if the capabilities may or may not potentially be there. Thanks!

15 REPLIES 15
LMI2
Lead
Posted on April 06, 2018 at 00:01

407 and STM32f1-7 don't have enough RAM or rom. You need an ARM which use external RAM, like SD-RAM:

Posted on April 06, 2018 at 00:16

Ahh, okay, I mistook an SD card for having something to do with sdram, but upon looking into what that is now I see what you mean. Is this something that could be (hypothetically) done using spi or i2c, since it is in particular *synchronous* dram? Sorry for such a basic question, I'm just still learning this stuff. 

Thanks!