Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help building a bootloader from the STM322xG-EVAL_USBH-FS example

Eric Clay
Associate
Posted on May 02, 2018 at 03:22

Hi Everyone,

I've been tasked with developing a bootloader to enable a device to do a firmware update via USB.

I'm sure this question has been asked in various forms many times, but I'm new to the world of STM32 and ARM and I'm having a bit of trouble putting all the information I've been finding together.

First off, I'll describe more specifically what we would like to do. We want a simple, reliable way to upgrade our devices in the field without requiring service technicians to bring chip programmers with them.

Ideally, a technician would use a hidden factory menu on the device to enable bootloader update mode, at which point the device would reboot into the bootloader and wait for the USB stick to be plugged in. After the update, the device would reboot back into the application. These devices are large appliances that could potentially be difficult to disconnect from power, so all resets would need to be initiated by the code.

Our starting point for this endeavour is the STM322xG-EVAL_USBH-FS example project. So far I've successfully modified the example to match our board layout, and I've been able to successfully flash our application from the bootloader and have it start automatically once the vector table location was updated in the application.

The current flash settings are (let me know if you need more information, the rest of the code is essentially the same as the example):

Bootloader

VECT_TAB_OFFSET   0x00

USER_FLASH_STARTADDRESS   0x08008000

APPLICATION_ADDRESS   0x08008000

Application

VECT_TAB_OFFSET   0x08008000

Application start address (linker setting) 0x08008000