Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MOE behaviour on TIM1/8/20

Martin Izaak
Associate II
Posted on May 09, 2018 at 16:39

Hello forum,

I am new to STM32 but familiar with programming DSPs/MCUs.

I just bought a NUCLEO-F303ZE board and I am struggling with the PWM-Timer block. I have set up a CubeMX project and I achieved a project with a PWM on TIM1 from scratch. First it was very surprised that I have to write two HAL-commands to start the PWM and PWMN (HAL_TIM_PWM_Start and HAL_TIM_PWMN_Start).

No I am playing with the MOE. I noticed that this command is executed immediately and not at CNT=0.

So my question is if there is a way to start all TIM-PWMs synchronised at CNT=0 (very important for our motor control). The TIM update event also starts my ISR for controlling the motor so an On/Off of the TIM is not a good idea.

My next question will be if there is a way to switch of the PWM output at a given CNT value. For example on an up counting configuration I want to set the PWM-pin at CNT=2 and reset the PWM pin at CNT=5. I found one way to use a separate TIM module for each phase. But that is not my favourite solution.

Thank you for your support,

Martin

#tim #moe
4 REPLIES 4
Khouloud GARSI
Lead II
Posted on May 24, 2018 at 13:19

Hi Martin,

You should enable the normal and the complimentary channel outputs before enabling the timer.

* TIM1->CCER |= TIM_CCER_CC1E; /* Enable the PWM output */
* TIM1->CCER |= TIM_CCER_CC1NE; /* Enable the complementary PWM output */ 
* __HAL_TIM_MOE_ENABLE(TIM1); /* Enable the Main Output */
* __HAL_TIM_ENABLE(TIM1); /* Enable the Peripheral */
�?�?�?�?

Now for switching the PWM output at a given CTN value, you should use the combined PWM mode.

Please refer to 'Combined PWM mode' section of

http://www.st.com/content/ccc/resource/technical/document/reference_manual/4a/19/6e/18/9d/92/43/32/DM000435pdf/files/DM000435pdf/jcr:content/translations/en.DM000435pdf

Khouloud.

Posted on May 24, 2018 at 14:58