Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to restart ST Link automatically.

b k
Associate II
Posted on May 14, 2018 at 10:05

Hello all

I am quite new to STLink. I am trying to program a microcontroller using STLink/V2. In normal situations it works perfectly. but at times i do have a communication error with STLink and it shows' USB communication error'. The settings are all unchanged but still a communication error occurs between STLink & computer.

After sometime i noticed that when I unplug the usb cable and plug it again, the STLink & the programming works again.

So i tried using DEVCON.EXE utility from cmd line to enable & disable the STLink USB port automatically, before starting programming each time. It works in a way, but for that i need Admin rights, which is not available on the account where i use the final application. 

So i would like to know whether there is some option within STLink to restart the STLink or to enable/disable the USB port.

Thanks

Bk

10 REPLIES 10
Lead
Posted on May 14, 2018 at 11:02

In normal situations it works perfectly. but at times i do have a communication error with STLink and it shows' USB communication error'.

Are you sure you do not have an application problem ?

If the ST-Link and the target are on the same board (Discovery, Nucleo), an over-current will affect the ST-Link as well.

BTW, you could be a bit more informative, like the board you use, target application, ST-Link firmware version, host OS, host USB driver version, etc.

b k
Associate II
Posted on May 14, 2018 at 13:54

I am having a PCB with testpoints which contains the BT121 module (Bluegiga). The test points are then  connected to STLink via 20-pin flat cable.( like Pin 1 to Target Voltage 3.3V, Pin7, Pin9, Pin 20 - to GND). A Renesas Flash programmer E1 is also connected to the PCB but only one of them (either E1 or STLink) is powered ON at a time.

Here are further infos: