Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using TIMER in Encoder Mode with interrupts on value change

Fabiolino Pancot
Associate II
Posted on June 19, 2018 at 11:55

Hi all,

I'm quite new to the embedded stm32 environment so if I'm asking something stupid please forgive me.

First of all, my setup. 

I'm using a NUCLEO-32bit with STM32L432KC, and we need to test some performances on encoders because we have some problems. 

One of these tests is the one in which I'm stuck. 

Basically I want to use one of the available TIMx  (TIM2) in Encoder Mode with interrupts, and I've successfully managed to do let's say 80% of the work. The only part that I'm stuck with is the interrupt part: I want to fire an interrupt each time the CNT value changes, and also know the direction of the change (i.e. if my encoder rotates CW, increase a variable, if it rotates ACW i want the variable to decrement).

Actually the interrupt fires regularly also when the CNT value of encoder does not changes, so I do not know what I'm doing wrong. And I also experience a strange behaviour of the encoder: also when it is not moved, sometimes the CNT value decrements itself until 0. 

Here my actual code:

/* TIM2 init function */

static void MX_TIM2_Init(void)

{

TIM_Encoder_InitTypeDef sConfig;

TIM_MasterConfigTypeDef sMasterConfig;

htim2.Instance = TIM2;

htim2.Init.Prescaler = 0;

htim2.Init.CounterMode = TIM_COUNTERMODE_UP;

htim2.Init.Period = 200;

htim2.Init.ClockDivision = TIM_CLOCKDIVISION_DIV1;

htim2.Init.AutoReloadPreload = TIM_AUTORELOAD_PRELOAD_DISABLE;

sConfig.EncoderMode = TIM_ENCODERMODE_TI12;

sConfig.IC1Polarity = TIM_ICPOLARITY_RISING;

sConfig.IC1Selection = TIM_ICSELECTION_DIRECTTI;

sConfig.IC1Prescaler = TIM_ICPSC_DIV1;

sConfig.IC1Filter = 15;

sConfig.IC2Polarity = TIM_ICPOLARITY_RISING;

sConfig.IC2Selection = TIM_ICSELECTION_DIRECTTI;

sConfig.IC2Prescaler = TIM_ICPSC_DIV1;

sConfig.IC2Filter = 15;