cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Has anyone know what is the difference between HAL_TIM_PWM_Start(),HAL_TIM_PWM_Start_IT() and HAL_TIM_PWM_Start_DMA()?

Poulamee Sur
Associate
Posted on June 27, 2018 at 13:25

Hello,

I am new in timer implementation , I want to generate PWM timer with an external clock using 2 MHz as frequency.. It shall be possible to enable or disable the generation of the PWM signal. I can able to generate, But I have a doubt for running the timer with support should give- blocking , DMA or interrupt ??

I have found three different function is available ,HAL_TIM_PWM_Start(),HAL_TIM_PWM_Start_IT() and HAL_TIM_PWM_Start_DMA() , What is the difference between these three ?? which is suitable for 2Mhz PWM timer generation and why ?

I'm using STM32F7 Nucleo Board

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

4 REPLIES 4
Imen.D
ST Employee
Posted on June 28, 2018 at 12:36

Hello

sur.poulamee@in.bosch.com

Can you please precise if you want to put the 2MHz frequency signal as an input clock source for timer 

or generate PWM timer signal with 2 MHz frequency? If it is possible provide a figure that explain your expected configuration.

If you just want generate a PWM signal, you can use the HAL_TIM_PWM_Start function.

For HAL_TIM_PWM_Start() funtion: 

Starts the PWM signal generation.

The HAL_TIM_PWM_Start_IT() funtion s

tarts the PWM signal with interrupt generation.

0690X0000060LSTQA2.png

HAL_TIM_PWM_Start_DMA() funtion s

tarts the TIM PWM signal with DMA request generation.

0690X0000060LVgQAM.png

You can refer to the

https://www.st.com/content/ccc/resource/technical/document/application_note/54/0f/67/eb/47/34/45/40/DM00042534.pdf/files/DM00042534.pdf/jcr:content/translations/en.DM00042534.pdf

it can help you to understand the PWM generation signal.

I recommend you to start from the TIM_PWMOutput example within the